BIHWA changes its name

Sunday, 14th May 2006

The British Ice Hockey Writers' Association was created in 1984 to promote the interests of the sport and its writers, photographers and broadcasters.  At their AGM in April 2006 its members decided to change the association's name to reflect both the growth of the sport within the UK and also the media covering it.

Apart from aiming to further the interests of ice hockey in the UK and the interests of all journalists covering the sport in the UK, one of IHJUK's other main functions is the awarding of its Annual End of Season Awards such as the Player of the Year, the Coach of the Year and the All-star Teams. IHJUK are proud that they are the only organisation in the UK that rewards
the players and coaches for their efforts in this way.

IHJUK is also the custodian of the only Hall of Fame in UK ice hockey. Personalities who are deemed to have made an 'outstanding contribution to the sport' have been inducted into the Hall by a specially elected sub-committee of IHJUK since 1986.

IHJUK press release